NDOI Nebraska Department of Insurance Click to View health plan and rate preview
Print Friendly and PDF

What kinds of insurance plans are available on the Marketplace?

All health insurance plans that meet or exceed all ten essential health benefits are offered in the marketplace. These health plans are known as qualified health plans. There are four different tiers of plans that can be offered in the market place: Platinum, Gold, Silver, and Bronze. Each metal tier represents a different amount of insurance coverage.

Platinum: 90% of costs covered by the insurance company
Gold: 80% of costs covered by the insurance company
Silver: 70% of costs covered by the insurance company
Bronze: 60% of costs covered by the insurance company

All plans offer the same set of essential health benefits. The different levels do not reflect the quality or amount of care the plans cover. The categories differ as to how much your premium costs each month and the total amount of out-of-pocket costs you'll have.

Generally, plans with lower premiums will have higher out-of-pocket costs. The bronze level plans tend to have the lowest premiums but higher out-of-pocket costs. While the platinum level plans will have high monthly premiums but low out-of pocket costs.

Additionally, catastrophic plans will also be available on the marketplace for individuals exempt from the requirement to purchase insurance and for individuals under the age of 30. Catastrophic plans have a lower premium cost, but generally require you to pay all of your medical costs out-of-pocket up to a certain amount - usually several thousand dollars. Catastrophic plans are intended to protect from major injuries or illnesses, not for everyday doctor visits. Individuals buying catastrophic plans are not eligible to get tax credits or subsidies to help pay for this coverage.

← Back to Questions

Back to Top